Surfside Girls: The Secret of Danger Point

Surfside Girls: The Secret of Danger Point
Surfside Girls #1
by Kim Dwinell
Graphic Novel
Mystery
Supernatural
* * * * Stars (Great!)

Samantha and Jade (both 12) discover an underwater cave at Danger Point, which has just been bought by a developer that wants to put up a big hotel.  When Sam explores further, she meets a whole host of ghosts who want her help to protect the land.  Jade can’t see the ghosts, initially, but she’s willing to help Sam investigate what’s really going on at the Point.  Together they put on their detective caps and make some astonishing discoveries, which eventually help them save the Point.  A colorfully illustrated, well-crafted mystery, with some cute (and in a couple cases, hunky) ghostly figures, and enterprising gutsy-girl sleuths.  Great for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s and Victoria Jamieson’s books.

Reviewed by YA Librarian